Saint’s bones and lavender in Hvar

Hvar lavender

Lavender on the Croatian island of Hvar

As a boy I was lucky to spend holidays in what used to be called Yugoslavia. The island of Hvar lies off the coast of Croatia in the beautiful, crystal waters of the Adriatic.

I was six, but still have vivid memories of that trip in July 1981. We watched Charles and Diana get married from poolside. We saw dolphins on a fish picnic and then stared through a glass-bottomed boat at the rocks and sea urchins fathoms beneath us.

I wrote a short piece about how compelling memories can be brought back by a scent.  The lavender in Hvar is unforgettable. I hope to return soon. Read about it on the American website Creative Writing Now.

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

