Wine Lord

Wine Lord is a great name for this shop in Spring Road, Birmingham. Sadly, I’m sure that precludes most of its clientele – such a name would doubtless reduce sales significantly even if it stood in Knightsbridge.

However, Wine Lord, is a hidden gem. When I stepped inside I found a fantastic time-travel selection of sweets from the 1980s. I could feel my gums clench and teeth drop as I stared at them.

Candy cigarettes, lemon sherbets, bon-bons, white chocolate buttons, cherry cola bottles. And all pre-weighed and bagged, ready to go.

I haven’t seen such a selection of toothsome treats since I stumbled across a street market in Market Drayton, north Shropshire, one wet Wednesday. The Wine Lord is now on my radar for sweets.

The Count of Confectionery, perhaps?

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Outsiders and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

