Sea Trips

I took this on the seafront at Llandudno as rain threatened. There’s a touch of the Donald McGill saucy seaside humour about it, tinged with bitterly cold and damp British weather.
I love the baby’s face – it’s reminiscent of a character called Baby Face Finlayson in the Beano (a gangster who hung out in a pram).
I think the British seaside is enjoying a renaissance and that’s great. Although I love Croatia I don’t feel the need to dash for the sun in the Mediterranean. I’ve always loved the British seaside and think this photo sums it up perfectly. It’s about embracing the weather and making the best of it. It’s about enjoying scenery and sucking up all that ozone and seasalt, not to mention the candyfloss, ice-cream and frying onions.

You can read my Daily Telegraph Just Back travel piece of the year 2009 about Llandudno here.

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

