Rivers and Relationships published by Bradt travel guides

Delighted that my piece on New Zealand ‘Rivers and Relationships’ was long-listed by Bradt Guides and the Independent on Sunday in their travel-writing competition.

Tasman Sea

Back in 1997 I flew to New Zealand and, while the relationship I’d had in London and travelled to continue didn’t work out, I discovered a beautiful and fascinating country. I was sad to hear of the recent earthquakes and send my best wishes to our cousins in New Zealand.

I was talking to a Kiwi at Birmingham New Street the other day – as you do – and he said a whole suburb of Christchurch was unsafe and would have to be levelled. These days, when the first headlines have been written, we hear little more unless we have a personal connection. Sadly, the hardship continues for many……

I had a great time in NZ and would like to return one day to climb Mount Cook and swim again in the Tasman! You can read my long-listed story by clicking here.

Congratulations to overall winners Simon Duncan and Dawn Curtis, especially as Simon also chose the Tasman for his story.

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

