‘My first swim’ in Hvar wins travel-writing prize

Beautiful Hvar where I learned to swim

Beautiful Hvar where I learned to swim

Hvar travel story wins prize

I was delighted to learn earlier today that ‘My First Swim’ had won the monthly (April) My First Travel travel-writing prize. I was lucky enough to win a Kindle and look forward to using it, though I’ll never wean myself off the smell of fresh ink.

You can read the piece here.  I had great fun writing it and recalling fondly my first happy trip abroad. I drove my parents mad learning to swim and doing bizarre things like collecting sugar sachets and beer bottle tops and filling my Dad’s flight bag with them.

I’ve written about discovering saint’s bones in a drawer on the wonderful island of Hvar elsewhere on this blog and will doubtless do so again (write a post, not discover bones).

About richlakin

I write about things that interest me
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘My first swim’ in Hvar wins travel-writing prize

  1. jumpingpolarbear says:

    Hvar, Brac, Korcula. Ahh, to be back there again :).

Leave a Reply

