Cheshire Prize for Literature

Loyd Grossman was an entertaining speaker in Chester

Loyd Grossman was an entertaining speaker in Chester

On a cold, wet night in early December we made the trip through waterlogged country lanes from Stafford to Chester for the Cheshire prize for Literature. I’m delighted we made the effort.
Back in 2009 my short story ‘Death is not the End’ was selected for inclusion in the Cheshire Prize’s anthology Zoo.

Along with winning the Daily Telegraph’s annual Just Back travel-writing prize this was one of my first big breakthroughs so I’m particularly fond of the competition.

The following summer I attended a wonderful event at Bolesworth Castle, hosted by the High Sherriff of Cheshire. I read a section of my story to the audience. I’m delighted to report my short story ‘Broken Memories’ has been chosen for selection in this year’s anthology. More on that soon.

This year’s winning story Udumbarba in Lytham St Annes by Sarah Hilary was read by Loyd Grossman. It’s a great story with some brilliant observations and made us laugh. Sarah’s post on the evening is here.

Loyd chatted with Dr Emma Rees and shared some entertaining stories. He’s a big fan of tomato ketchup (why not?) and Jessie J is currently first choice on his iPod. He also shared anecdotes about playing guitar at Glastonbury and how his passion for food was kindled as a child watching lobsters landed on the east coast of America.

Thanks to Dr Rees and her staff for organising a great event.

About richlakin

I write about things that interest me
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheshire Prize for Literature

  1. Sarah Hilary says:

    Thank you. Rich, for covering the Prize ceremony and for your kind words about my story. Congratulations on being in the anthology, too. That’s where I started from, in 2009, so fingers crossed for you to win the next one.

    • richlakin says:

      Hi Sarah, if that was Zoo I had a story in that anthology called ‘Death is not the End’ (cheery title) so I’ll have a look at your work again later. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your new project.

  2. barbaracorfield says:

    Hello Rich, I was very upset to have missed the ceremony due to family illness but wanted to congratulate you on your inclusion in this years Anthology. I too have been fortunate to be included this year, and hope, like yourself and Sarah that it will be the start of an interesting journey ahead.

Leave a Reply

