Writing for Bus Pass Britain Rides Again

Bus Pass Britain

Bus Pass Britain

Earlier this year I entered the Bradt Travel Guides/Sunday Independent travel-writing prize for 2012. I was delighted to be shortlisted and attend the prize-giving event in Covent Garden.
The Independent’s travel editor Simon Calder was on hand to offer advice and it was great to meet so many other keen travel writers.
Shortly after the event I was contacted, along with other entrants, to see if I would like like to submit an idea for a piece for a planned new anthology Bus Pass Britain Rides Again. This was also advertised by Bradt Travel Guides on their website.
I sent off a proposal for a travel piece I was keen to write a piece on Birmingham’s infamous Number 11 route but this had been done in a previous edition.
Instead I sent off a route in my home county of Staffordshire. I’m delighted to say it’s been accepted and I will submit my 1500-word piece by March 1.
More news soon…….

A short description from the Bradt website of the original Bus Pass Britain: ‘Bus-Pass Britain is a colourful celebration of travelling by bus around the British Isles and features a selection of 50 favourite bus-routes submitted by members of the public in response to a Bradt competition. Their favourite bus routes reveal a wonderful mosaic of journeys across Britain, from a pleasant meander through Surrey lanes to an orbit through Birmingham’s edgy suburbs.’

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

