Lost and Found in Chester

Lost and Found - 2012 Cheshire Prize for Literature anthology

Lost and Found – 2012 Cheshire Prize for Literature anthology

What a great night in Chester. I was invited along with other contributors to the Cheshire Prize for Literature’s 2012 anthology Lost and Found.

The event (held on Tuesday – June 25) took place in the Riverside Buildings beside the River Dee. It was great to put faces to many of the names in the anthology and to listen to excerpts from several of the stories.

I had chance to meet and chat with my fellow contributors and was able to catch up with Sarah Frost Mellor whose story ‘Udumbara in Lytham St Annes’ won first prize. We were in Chester on a wild and wet winter’s night when the winners were announced last December. I wrote a post here and enjoyed listening to Loyd Grossman who presented the awards after a discussion.

It was good to catch up with Sarah, who writes as Sarah Hilary, and listen to how much the award means to her and how it kicked off a great year. Sarah has signed a publishing deal and I look forward to reading her first crime novel ‘Someone Else’s Skin’ scheduled for next February.

Sarah thanked Dr Emma Rees for her work in editing and judging the prize and, particularly, for promoting work in a competition that is free to enter. When there are many prizes that can cost £10 and even up to £25 to enter the Cheshire Prize was deservedly commended. You can read more about Sarah’s work here.

I’m grateful to Emma and her colleagues. I’ve been published twice by the Cheshire Prize for Literature and it has brought validation, a confidence boost and two beautifully designed volumes on my shelf I’m extremely proud to be part of.

I’m enjoying reading my anthology and will return to these pages to review shortly.

For details of the anthology click here.

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lost and Found in Chester

  1. Sarah Hilary says:

    Many thanks for this great write-up, Richard. It was good to meet you on Tuesday and to chat All Things Writing with you. Good luck with your next project!

Leave a Reply

