Give Them What They Want – short story published

At the Cheshire Prize for Literature - beside the River Dee - start of a good week for writing

At the Cheshire Prize for Literature – beside the River Dee – start of a good week for writing

Great news – following a wonderful evening at the Cheshire Prize for Literature (my story ‘Part of the Furniture’ is included in the Lost and Found anthology) on June 25 I learned this week I’ve had a story long-listed and another published.

My short story ‘The Last Chip Supper’ has been long-listed by the Frome Festival short story competition  and Julie McDowall at the Puffin Review has kindly published ‘Give Them What They Want’ which can be read here.

I’m grateful to Julie for her support and the encouragement it brings, particularly as she has had such a busy time promoting her new book Casting the Net.

I enjoyed writing this story and hope it springs a few surprises. It’s set in my home county of Staffordshire and based on some of my experiences of working as a sales rep (some of my experiences!)

About richlakin

I write about things that interest me
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Give Them What They Want – short story published

  1. beetleypete says:

    I will have to read that story Rich, I was a sales rep from 1970-1976, and toured the country selling all sorts. Well done with the recognition too. Congratulations!
    Regards from Norfolk, Pete.
    PS One tale of repping here; http://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/the-rizla-experience/

  2. beetleypete says:

    I read the story ‘Give them what they want’, and enjoyed it a lot. It was really good that it avoided the obvious cliched ending. Great stuff Rich. Regards, Pete.

Leave a Reply

