Book Review – A Kind of Intimacy by Jenn Ashworth

A Kind of Intimacy

A Kind of Intimacy

It was the hedgehog (melon wrapped in silver foil) and spiked with cheese and pickled onion nibbles that got my attention…..

Jenn Ashworth has written three novels – the latest The Friday Gospels – has picked up a number of excellent reviews, but her first novel A Kind of Intimacy should not be overlooked.

I was given the book, along with a handful of others, by Writing West Midlands and it sat on my shelf for a few weeks because, judging by the cover (see alongside), I wasn’t sure it was my kind of book.

I can’t remember why or when I dipped in but I was hooked and delighted I did. Annie, the central character of the novel is a wonderfully complex creation. She’s morbidly obese and lonely but always hopeful things will get better and by turns obsessive, loving, needy, frightening, resilient and desperate.

Annie is in search of love and focuses her attentions on the guy next door, but her size brings a number of encounters with men out to use her. In less able hands Annie’s escapades could easily have made her into a difficult and deranged character we feel no sympathy for, but she is a survivor and the book is full of humour.

So many books are set in London or other major global cities so I particularly enjoyed Ashworth’s setting of coastal Lancashire.

I passed the book onto my wife and she was hooked too.

As for the spiky hedgehog – I had to tweet Jenn Ashworth about that. My mum and her friends used to do the same thing for kids’ parties. A powerful childhood memory. I look forward to reading more of Jenn’s books.

Her website, featuring some great images, can be found here.

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – A Kind of Intimacy by Jenn Ashworth

  1. beetleypete says:

    Sounds like something different for a change Rich. Good recommendation!
    Regards, Pete.

Leave a Reply

