First Edition published in the red line magazine

First Edition - is collecting about making money or filling the hours for Ernest and Perry?

First Edition – is collecting about making money or filling the hours for Ernest and Perry?

The charity shops in Stafford are great for browsing for books, particularly Oxfam. We’ve picked up some great books and donated many too.

Most people are courteous but when I’m browsing I sometimes notice the kind of behaviour I normally witness on crowded trains: less patience, huffing and sighing and shuffling into position, the odd elbow or even bags or coats placed strategically in the way of favoured items.

Inspired by one woman and man in particular I wrote a story about the competition for the best books. I liked creating Ernest Nettles and Perry Sadler and setting up their rivalry – they are the kind of men I’m sure exist in every town.

I’m grateful to the red line for publishing my piece in their Urban edition and look forward to reading the other contributors. I’m also grateful for the feedback and can understand why the judge, Eric Westerlind, wants to hear more from the ‘greaser outside’ (I like that quote) Perry Sadler. Perhaps I’ll revisit Perry at some point.

You can read it here from page 28.

About richlakin

I write about things that interest me
This entry was posted in Outsiders, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Edition published in the red line magazine

  1. beetleypete says:

    Going to click the link and read it later, will comment more then. regards, Pete.

  2. beetleypete says:

    Hi Rich. I have to admit, I did find it hard to read on that site. I had to play around with the settings and options, and none were that user-friendly. However, I persevered, and really enjoyed what I was able to read comfortably. But then again, I am an old so and so, with poor eyesight!
    Well done for getting published (again) and best wishes from Norfolk. Pete.

Leave a Reply

