Tram

Llandudno’s leaders were very smart in retaining so much of its Victorian/Edwardian charm. How easy it would’ve been to rip out the tram and the gardens, neglect the pier. Other resorts did in an attempt to boost flagging seaside trade as people began to travel abroad in the post-war years.
Now there is a definite air of nostalgia – a longing for an ideal of a seaside holiday – that brings in visitors to Llandudno.
We stayed in a wonderful little cottage right beside the tram in February. The tracks ran right past our gate. The tram runs once more in March and we look forward to returning.

Tram track in Llandudno

Tram track in Llandudno

Tram lines down to Llandudno

Tram lines down to Llandudno

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tram

  1. beetleypete says:

    My Mum always told me that I was on the last tram ever to cross Tower Bridge. I would have been being carried, as a baby, but I have no way of verifying that tale!
    Trams are part of our history, and are great to see. I am not so fond of the ‘new’ ones though (like those in Croydon) as they don’t look nearly as appealing.
    Cheers Rich, all the best from Norfolk. Pete.

    • richlakin says:

      I know what you mean. There’s a great old tram at the Black Country Museum. Any form of transport where you can have a drink or a read or a daydream has to be good. Thanks Pete

Leave a Reply

