Reading Chandler in the canteen

chandlerCan’t remember where I got this copy but it looks great. I first read Chandler at university (better to learn how to drink scotch and wear a hat than study chemistry anyway).His one liners are brilliant.

A blonde, the kind of blonde to make a bishop kick a hole in a stained glass window.

He lit a cigarette that tasted like a plumber’s handkerchief.

Just reading a few choice lines made me smile. Best of all Chandler now has a new fan and he sits just across the desk from me.  The Big Sleep – good place to start, Tim.

For now I’m following the wreckage Moose Malloy has left in his wake…

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Crime, Outsiders and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading Chandler in the canteen

  1. beetleypete says:

    Those lines are great indeed. Like the descriptions of characters in a Damon Runyan story.
    The cover is a classic too, looks like Errol Flynn!
    Regards, Pete.

Leave a Reply

