My short story Lye Noon available to listen to here….

Lye, joint shortest station name in the UK and keen readers

Lye – setting for my short story – joint shortest station name in the UK and home to keen readers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve never had my work performed by an actor so what a great experience to listen to Jack Trow reading my story Lye Noon.

You can listen to it online here

It was great fun, if a little sad at times, to write and I hope you enjoy it.

It’s a story about one of life’s outsiders, Billy Boon, who suffers despite his wish to help and be accepted.

Billy is a devoted admirer of the Wild West too and isn’t afraid to dress the part when he’s out and about in the Black Country.

The story wouldn’t have happened without the commissioning and support of WM Readers’ Network and, in particular Roz Goddard.

I had a fantastic time working with Lye Down with a Good Book reading group. They were friendly and encouraging and very knowledgeable.

Thanks to Rochi Rampal, Duncan Grimley and Jack Trow too, for a great reading.

 

About richlakin

I write about things that interest me
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My short story Lye Noon available to listen to here….

  1. beetleypete says:

    I really enjoyed listening to this, Rich. Despite my suspicions about Billy’s eventual demise, I loved the details along the way. ‘Eyelid fluttering like a moth’s wing’, and the St George flag above the ‘Taste of India’. Perfect stuff that set the scene in my mind.
    The Midlands accents of the characters worked well, and I liked the fact that it turned full circle, with Trevor being married to the woman Billy saved outside the bank.
    Well done mate.
    Best wishes, Pete.

Leave a Reply

