Shortlisted in Foyles ‘Still’ short story competition

The Stage Piano Roelof Bakker

Foyles Short Story competition

I’m delighted to have been shortlisted in Foyles’ short story competition ‘Still.’

You can read more about it here

I wrote 500 words inspired by a photograph (above) of a piano in Roelof Bakker’s Still collection.

I’ve always been attracted to writing about empty, forgotten places at the seaside, in cities and elsewhere.

Congratulations to the winner AJ Ashworth.

About richlakin

I'm married with two young boys and living in Staffordshire. If I'm not working you can find me day dreaming or holding high-brow literature in front of my face. Or eating Arctic Roll.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shortlisted in Foyles ‘Still’ short story competition

  1. fletcherski says:

    Well done again. You’ve inspired me to crack on with some short story ideas I’ve got.

  2. Elaine Moxon says:

    Fabulous Richard. Great to be shortlisted and what an atmospheric photograph to work from; you can feel the memories pouring from that scene. I love taking stills for my WIP to enhance my writing. I hope the good fortune continues for you. A win next? 😉

    Bright blessings,
    Elaine

Leave a Reply

